British High Commission Kuala Lumpur

The British High Commission in Malaysia is an active player on environmental protection. The UK government is fully committed to protection of the planet and accelerating the transition to a low carbon economy. As President of the UN Climate Conference COP26 in 2021, we are working with Malaysia, the Commonwealth and the wider ASEAN region to tackle climate change, promote green finance investment in renewable technologies, and reduce plastic waste. We celebrate World Oceans Day by supporting activity to address plastic ocean pollution and protect biodiversity.

Webinars

Official Launch of Blu Hope

8th June 2020
3:00pm to 4:20pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
8:00am to 9:20am (London)
British High Commission Kuala Lumpur

Moderator: 

Charles Hay MVO, British High Commissioner to Malaysia

Video Message from Sir David Attenborough

Video Speech from The Rt. Hon Lord Zac Goldsmith, Minister for Pacific & the Environment

Jo Ruxton, Founder & Director Plastic Oceans UK

Paul Rose, Explorer & TV Presenter and Plastic Oceans UK Patron

Dr Sylvia Earle, National Geographic Explorer in Residence & Founder of Mission Blue

WATCH

Commonwealth Blue Charter & Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance

10th June 2020
3:30pm to 4:50pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
8:30am to 9:50am (London)
British High Commission Kuala Lumpur

Moderator: H.E. Charles Hay MVO, British High Commissioner to Malaysia

Panel:

Dr Nicholas Hardman-Mountford, Head of Oceans & Natural Resources, Commonwealth Secretariat

Briony Coulson, Head, Ocean Plastic Pollution & International Blue Finance, DEFRA

Stephen Harris, Former Special Representative to CCOA & Founder of Maui’s Ark

Kristin Hughes, Director, Global Plastic Action Partnership, Member of the Executive Committee WEF

Jo Royle, Managing Director Common Seas

           

(more…)

WATCH