Today we look at how we are addressing the challenges of plastic (and other) pollution facing our oceans. In looking towards solutions – we need to understand the ‘problem’. Our webinars aim to inspire both thinking and action! Join panel discussions of beach clean-up groups who are taking waste off our beaches. Hear how policy and practice in business is now responding to enhance recyclability and reduce waste getting into the environment. We also look at the latest ocean innovations and plastic waste recycling technologies that can help get us to a ‘circular economy’, and hear from scientists working on the frontline assessing the impacts, and what we need to do to stop pollution at source.

#WOW Beach Clean-Up Panel Discussion

10th June 2020
12:00pm to 1:20pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
5:00am to 6:20am (London)
UW360

Moderator: Nadya Hutagalung Panellist: Afroz Shah, Trash Hero, Seven Clean Seas, Bye-Bye Plastic, International Coastal Clean Up, Parley of the Ocean, AG Sano,

Plastic Value

10th June 2020
2:30pm to 3:20pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
7:30am to 8:20am (London)

ESECO

Dr Siva

 

WATCH

Commonwealth Blue Charter & Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance

10th June 2020
3:30pm to 4:50pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
8:30am to 9:50am (London)
British High Commission Kuala Lumpur

Moderator: H.E. Charles Hay MVO, British High Commissioner to Malaysia

Panel:

Dr Nicholas Hardman-Mountford, Head of Oceans & Natural Resources, Commonwealth Secretariat

Briony Coulson, Head, Ocean Plastic Pollution & International Blue Finance, DEFRA

Stephen Harris, Former Special Representative to CCOA & Founder of Maui’s Ark

Kristin Hughes, Director, Global Plastic Action Partnership, Member of the Executive Committee WEF

Jo Royle, Managing Director Common Seas

           

(more…)

WATCH

Chemical recycling of plastics: turning waste into a valuable resource, and help prevent ocean pollution

10th June 2020
6:00pm to 6:50pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
11:00am to 11:50am (London)
Mura Technology

Moderator: Dr. Geoff Brighty, Environmental Consultant

Richard Daley, Managing Director of ReNewELP

MURA/ReNewELP

Richard Daley is leading the construction of the world’s first commercial scale Cat-HTR™ plant, in Teeside, UK. He provides an overview of chemical recycling as a solution to the global waste plastic problem. He will share his thoughts on how this process can transform waste recycling and help countries, business, and communities progress towards a circular plastics economy.

(more…)

WATCH

Plastic Pollution & Climate Change

10th June 2020
10:00pm to 11:00pm (Singapore/Kuala Lumpur)
3:00pm to 4:00pm (London)

UK Government

Moderator: H.E. Charles Hay, British High Commissioner to Malaysia 

Ken O’Flaherty

COP26 Regional Ambassador for A/P & South Asia

(more…)

WATCH